What's the best Hootsuite alternative? Postprism is the best Hootsuite alternative in 2026: it publishes to 6 networks with a native version of every post for a flat $19 a month, against Hootsuite's $99 per user a month billed annually, and a team of three with approvals pays $49 a month on Postprism instead of $1,197 on Hootsuite Advanced, with an MCP server for AI agents on every plan. Sprout Social suits enterprise teams that want reporting and governance, Agorapulse suits inbox-heavy brands and agencies, Buffer suits solo users on a few channels, SocialPilot suits budget agencies with many accounts, Sendible suits agencies that want unlimited users, Later suits Instagram-first visual planning, and Metricool suits analytics-led marketers.
Hootsuite is one of the most complete social media platforms on the market. It publishes, it runs a shared inbox, it listens, it manages ads, and it has mobile apps. People start looking for a Hootsuite alternative for practical reasons: it is priced per user, approvals only arrive on the Advanced plan at $399 per user, and most small teams pay for an inbox, listening and ads suite when what they mainly do is plan, write and publish. If you are weighing just the two products, our head-to-head page, Postprism vs Hootsuite, covers that comparison in detail. This guide looks wider, ranking eight tools on cost at real team sizes, approvals, AI writing and agent access, with every competitor price checked on the vendor's own page in October 2026.
Why Postprism is the Hootsuite alternative to pick
- A flat price instead of a price per seat. Solo is $19 a month ($14 billed yearly), Freelancer $49 and Agency $99, with unlimited posts on every plan. Plans are set by brands (workspaces) and team members, never by seat: one brand on all 6 networks is $19, three brands and three people are $49, ten of each are $99. See pricing.
- Approvals from $49, not $399 per person. Freelancer and Agency include an approval step where Owners and Admins approve posts or request changes, with Owner, Admin, Editor and read-only Viewer roles. See team collaboration.
- A native version for every network in one request. Write once, click Enhance with AI, and Postprism returns a separate, editable version for every network you selected, shaped by your brand identity. Plans include 150, 500 or 2,000 AI adaptations a month. See AI content adaptation.
- Your AI agent can run it via MCP, on every plan. Postprism's hosted MCP server gives Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients 11 tools to list workspaces, upload media, create and edit posts and read analytics. See AI agents.
Key findings
- Hootsuite charges per user. Hootsuite's plans page lists Standard at $99, Professional at $199 and Advanced at $399 per user a month, based on annual billing and before tax. Standard connects up to 10 social accounts; Professional and Advanced are unlimited.
- Approvals sit on Advanced. Hootsuite's features-by-plan table marks post approval workflows and internal comments as Advanced and Enterprise only, so a three-person team that needs sign-off pays $1,197 a month billed annually.
- There is no free Hootsuite plan. The plans page offers a 14-day free trial with daily posting limits of 10 to 20 posts per organisation, and bulk scheduling is not available during the trial.
- Hootsuite does have MCP servers. Its MCP page lists Perch for publishing, Nest for the inbox, Lumen for listening and Parliament for advocacy. The plans table lists the Lumen MCP connector on Enterprise only, and the MCP page does not say which plans include the others.
- Most alternatives cost far less at small team sizes. For three people with approvals, SocialPilot Standard is $50 a month, Later Growth with add-ons is about $52.50 billed yearly, Sendible Plus is $99 and Postprism Freelancer is $49.
- Postprism stays at $19 for one brand on any or all of its 6 networks, and moves to $49 or $99 only when you add brands or team members.
What Hootsuite costs for 1, 3 and 10 people, against Postprism and the rest
Hootsuite's per-user model is the main reason people price alternatives, so the table compares three common set-ups rather than channel counts. Each column shows the lowest plan on the vendor's own pricing page that covers the set-up, at list price. Billing basis differs by vendor and is noted in each row, because some vendors only show yearly-billed prices. Where a plan's account cap is exceeded, the listed add-on price is included. All competitor prices were checked October 2026 and link to the vendor's pricing page.
| Tool and billing | 1 person, 1 brand on 6 networks | 3 people, 3 brands on 6 networks each (18 accounts), with approvals | 10 people, 10 brands on 6 networks each (60 accounts), with approvals |
|---|---|---|---|
| Postprism (flat, monthly) | $19 (Solo) | $49 (Freelancer) | $99 (Agency) |
| Hootsuite (per user, billed annually) | $99 (Standard, up to 10 accounts) | $1,197 (Advanced, 3 users) | $3,990 (Advanced, 10 users) |
| Sprout Social (per seat, billed annually) | $299 (Professional; Essentials and Standard cap at 5 profiles) | $897 (Professional, 3 seats) | $2,990 (Professional, 10 seats) |
| Agorapulse (per user, billed annually) | $79 (Standard, 10 profiles) | $357 (Professional, 3 users) plus extra profiles over 10 at $10 each | $1,190 (Professional, 10 users) plus extra profiles over 10 at $10 each |
| Buffer (per channel, monthly) | $30 (Essentials, 6 channels at $5) | $180 (Team, 18 channels at $10) | $600 (Team, 60 channels at $10) |
| SocialPilot (monthly) | $30 (Essentials, 7 accounts) | $62 (Standard, 15 accounts plus 3 at $4) | $240 (Ultimate, 50 accounts plus 10 at $4) |
| Sendible (monthly) | $35 (Core, 6 profiles) | $99 (Plus, 3 workspaces, 18 profiles) | $299 (Elite, 15 workspaces, 90 profiles) |
| Later (billed yearly) | $18.75 (Starter, 1 of each of its 8 networks, which do not include X or Bluesky) | $52.50 (Growth plus 1 social set and 1 user) | $150 (Scale plus 4 social sets and 6 users) |
Where Hootsuite's price makes sense: the per-user fee buys more than a scheduler. Every Hootsuite plan includes a centralised inbox, brand and competitor monitoring, ads publishing and reporting, and mobile apps. If your team spends its day answering customers and tracking mentions, compare it with Sprout Social and Agorapulse, which sell the same kind of suite. If your team mainly plans, writes and publishes, the table shows how much of the bill goes to tools you may not open: a 10-person team with approvals pays $3,990 a month on Hootsuite Advanced and $99 on Postprism Agency.
Metricool does not fit the grid because it prices by brand (checked October 2026). The free plan covers 1 brand with 20 scheduled posts a month and no LinkedIn or X. Starter starts at $20 a month billed yearly ($25 monthly) for 5 brands, and Advanced, which adds the post approval system, starts at $53 a month billed yearly ($67 monthly) for 15 brands. X publishing needs an add-on on paid plans.
Best Hootsuite alternatives at a glance (checked October 2026)
| Rank | Tool | Best for | Starting price | How it charges | Approvals from | MCP and agent access |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Postprism | Teams that want a native version per network, approvals and agent access at a flat price | $19/month ($14 billed yearly) | Flat per plan, by brands and members | Freelancer, $49 | Hosted MCP server, 11 tools, every plan; REST API on Freelancer and Agency |
| 2 | Sprout Social | Enterprise teams that need reporting and governance | $79 per seat/month, billed annually | Per seat | Not stated on its pricing page | MCP not listed on its pricing page; Sprout API on Advanced |
| 3 | Agorapulse | Inbox-heavy brands and agencies | $79 per user/month, billed annually | Per user, 10 profiles included | Professional, $119 per user | Self-hosted MCP for ChatGPT and Claude on every plan |
| 4 | Buffer | Solo users on a few channels | Free; paid from $5 per channel/month | Per channel | Team, $10 per channel | Official remote MCP server; plans not stated |
| 5 | SocialPilot | Budget agencies with many accounts | $30/month ($25.50 billed yearly) | Per plan, with account add-ons | Standard, $50 | MCP server on all paid plans; API on Enterprise |
| 6 | Sendible | Agencies that want unlimited users and client workspaces | $35/month (15% off billed yearly) | Per plan, by workspace | Plus, $99 | Not listed on its pricing page |
| 7 | Later | Instagram-first visual planning | $18.75/month, billed yearly | By social set | Growth, $37.50 | Not listed on its pricing page |
| 8 | Metricool | Analytics-led marketers with several small brands | Free; paid from $20/month billed yearly | By brand | Advanced, from $53 | Metricool MCP on every plan, including Free; API on Advanced |
What Hootsuite does well, and where it gets harder
Before the list, it is worth being clear about Hootsuite's strengths, because they are real. It is a broad platform, and for a large social team the breadth is the point.
- A wide set of networks and formats. Hootsuite's network integrations page lists Instagram (feed photos, Reels, carousels and Stories), Facebook profiles, Pages and groups, TikTok, YouTube, X, LinkedIn, Threads, Pinterest and Bluesky, plus WhatsApp messages in its inbox and a Google My Business app for reviews and updates.
- An inbox, listening and ads on every plan. The features-by-plan table on the plans page includes an all-in-one inbox, saved replies, 7-day Quick Search, sentiment analysis, competitive benchmarking and ads publishing on Standard, with more depth on higher plans.
- Wisdom AI. Every self-serve plan includes 100 AI credits a month for Wisdom's caption generator, caption enhancements and hashtag suggestions. Recommended times to publish are on every plan.
- Bulk Composer. Every plan can schedule up to 350 posts at once from a CSV file, though not during the trial.
- Mobile apps. Hootsuite's iPhone and Android apps let you draft, schedule and publish, and reply to or assign messages on the go.
- MCP servers. Perch, Nest, Lumen and Parliament connect Hootsuite to ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot and Gemini.
Where it gets harder is the shape of the bill. Every person is another seat at $99 to $399 a month billed annually, approvals and internal comments need Advanced, and Standard is capped at 10 social accounts. A two-person content team that just wants to plan, write and get sign-off ends up on the most expensive self-serve plan. Those are the gaps the tools below fill in different ways.
| Situation | What happens on Hootsuite | Best alternative |
|---|---|---|
| One person, one brand, all the main networks | Standard at $99 a month billed annually | Postprism Solo, $19 for all 6 networks |
| A small team that needs approvals | Advanced at $399 per user | Postprism Freelancer, $49 for 3 members and 3 workspaces |
| An agency with up to 10 clients and 10 people | $3,990 a month on Advanced | Postprism Agency, $99 for 10 workspaces and 10 members |
| You want every network's version written in one step | Wisdom writes and refines captions per network | Postprism Enhance with AI |
| Customer care from a shared inbox is the main job | Hootsuite is strong here | Agorapulse or Sprout Social, or stay |
| Instagram grid planning is the main job | Calendar and list views | Later |
1. Postprism: For teams that want native posts on every network at a flat price
Postprism is a social media scheduler that publishes to X, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest from one calendar. Its idea is simple: write once, publish natively on every platform, and let your AI agent run it via MCP if you want. Each post holds a separate, editable version for every network you pick, so you never have to send the same caption everywhere. For the direct comparison, read Postprism vs Hootsuite.
What it publishes on each network
| Network | What Postprism publishes |
|---|---|
| X | Posts with up to 4 images |
| Text, a single image or a video, to personal profiles and Company Pages | |
| TikTok | Video and photo posts, published directly or sent to the inbox as a draft |
| YouTube | Full video uploads with title, tags, privacy, playlist, thumbnail and made-for-kids setting |
| Bluesky | Text posts |
| Image Pins |
Plans
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Members and workspaces | AI adaptations a month | Extras |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | $19 | $14/month | 1 and 1 | 150 | MCP server, Bulk Upload, analytics, unlimited posts |
| Freelancer | $49 | $36/month | 3 and 3 | 500 | Approvals, REST API |
| Agency | $99 | $75/month | 10 and 10 | 2,000 | Approvals, REST API, analytics CSV export |
Each workspace connects one account per network, so a workspace is one brand on all six networks. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial.
Why Hootsuite users pick it
- No seat maths. Adding a second or third person does not change the bill until you outgrow the plan's members. Agency covers 10 people for $99, the price of a single Hootsuite Standard seat.
- Approvals that fit small teams. Editors submit posts, Owners and Admins approve or request changes with notes, and Editors see their own queue in My submissions. Viewers are read-only, which suits clients who only need to look. Our guide to the social media approval workflow covers how to set it up.
- Enhance with AI. One click returns a version of your post for every selected network, shaped to each one's length and style. Anything over a network's limit turns red so you can edit it, and nothing is trimmed without you seeing it.
- Brand identity. The AI writes with your saved brand name, industry, tone, values, audience and key messages, so drafts sound like you from the start.
- Calendar and kanban. Month, week and day views with a platform filter, a kanban board with Drafts, Scheduled and Published columns, and a Generate content plan button that builds a 4-week plan.
- Agents. The hosted MCP server's 11 tools cover posts, media, analytics, platforms and workspaces, so an agent can schedule into the right client workspace. Claude and ChatGPT setup guides walk through connecting.
- Analytics on every plan. Impressions, reach, clicks, engagement rate, top posts and follower counts for X, YouTube, LinkedIn Pages and TikTok, over 30, 60 or 90 days.
Choose Postprism if your team mainly plans, writes and publishes, needs approvals without paying for every seat, wants each network to get its own version without rewriting by hand, or wants an AI agent to draft and schedule into a calendar you review. Start a 7-day free trial.
2. Sprout Social: For enterprise teams that need reporting and governance
Sprout Social's pricing page (checked October 2026) lists Essentials at $79 per seat a month billed annually ($99 billed monthly) with 5 social profiles, Standard at $199 per seat with 5 profiles, Professional at $299 with unlimited profiles and Advanced at $399 with unlimited profiles. Enterprise is custom. The free trial runs 30 days.
- AI: Trellis, Sprout's AI agent, comes with 100 AI agent credits per seat a month. Enhance Post by AI Assist starts at Professional and Enhance Reply at Advanced.
- Inbox: a consolidated inbox from Standard, message tagging from Professional, and sentiment and spike alerts on Advanced.
- Listening: an add-on from Standard, priced through a demo.
- API: the Sprout API is on Advanced. The pricing page does not mention an MCP server.
Choose Sprout Social if you are a larger company that wants Hootsuite's breadth with deep reporting and a 30-day trial, and seat pricing fits the budget. It is not a cheaper Hootsuite: one brand on six networks needs Professional at $299 a seat. See our Sprout Social alternative page or Sprout Social vs Hootsuite.
3. Agorapulse: For inbox-heavy brands and agencies
Agorapulse's pricing page (checked October 2026) lists Standard at $79 per user a month billed annually ($99 monthly), Professional at $119 ($149) and Advanced at $149 ($199), each with 10 social profiles. Extra profiles are $10 a month each billed annually ($15 monthly). Custom has unlimited profiles and tailored pricing. The free trial runs 30 days.
- Inbox: every plan includes the all-in-one social inbox, with one free moderation rule per profile.
- Approvals: simple approval workflows from Professional; multi-step approvals on Custom.
- Bulk: up to 200 posts from a CSV file, on Advanced and Custom.
- Agents: connecting ChatGPT or Claude through the self-hosted Agorapulse MCP is on every plan. The Reports open API is on Custom.
- Networks: Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn Pages and profiles, TikTok, X, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Bluesky and Google Business count toward the profile limit.
Choose Agorapulse if replying to comments and DMs is the main job and you want Hootsuite's inbox for less per user. It is still per user, so a 10-person team on Professional is $1,190 a month billed annually. See our Agorapulse alternative page.
4. Buffer: For solo users on a few channels
Buffer's pricing page (checked October 2026) lists a Free plan, Essentials at $5 a month per channel ($60 per channel billed yearly) and Team at $10 a month per channel ($120 billed yearly). Essentials and Team each have a 14-day free trial.
- Free plan: up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel, 1 user and 1 API key with 3,000 requests a month.
- Approvals and users: approval workflows and unlimited team members are on Team only.
- AI: the AI Assistant is on every plan.
- Agents: Buffer's Claude integration page describes a remote MCP server at
mcp.buffer.com/mcpto draft posts, review the queue and schedule from Claude. It does not say which plans include it.
Choose Buffer if you are one person on two or three channels and want to start free. Per-channel pricing rises with every profile, and approvals double the rate, so a team of three on 18 channels pays $180 a month on Team. See our Buffer alternative page, the Buffer alternatives roundup or Buffer vs Hootsuite.
5. SocialPilot: For budget agencies with many accounts
SocialPilot's plans, confirmed in its pricing reference (checked October 2026), are priced per plan with about 15% off when billed yearly:
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Accounts | Users | AI credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $30 | $25.50/month | 7 | 1 | 500 |
| Standard | $50 | $42.50/month | 15 | 3 | 1,000 |
| Premium | $100 | $85/month | 25 | 6 | 5,000 |
| Ultimate | $200 | $170/month | 50 | Unlimited | Unlimited |
- Add-ons: $4 a month per extra social account and $5 per extra user.
- Approvals: content and manager approval from Standard; client approval from Premium.
- Bulk: bulk scheduling starts at Premium.
- Agents: an MCP server on all paid plans; API access on Enterprise.
- White label: white-label reports from Premium, advanced white label on Ultimate and Enterprise.
- Networks: Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, Threads, TikTok, Pinterest, YouTube, Google Business Profile and Bluesky.
Choose SocialPilot if you run an agency with dozens of accounts and want white-label reports and client approvals at a plan price. Note that bulk scheduling, which is on every Postprism plan, starts at SocialPilot's $100 Premium plan. See our SocialPilot alternative page.
6. Sendible: For agencies that want unlimited users and client workspaces
Sendible's pricing page (checked October 2026) lists Core at $35 a month, Plus at $99, Premium at $199, Elite at $299 and Enterprise at $750, billed monthly, with 15% off billed yearly. Every plan has unlimited users and a 14-day free trial.
| Plan | Monthly | Workspaces | Social profiles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core | $35 | 1 | 6 |
| Plus | $99 | 3 | 18 |
| Premium | $199 | 7 | 42 |
| Elite | $299 | 15 | 90 |
| Enterprise | $750 | 50 | 300 |
- Approvals: post assignment and approvals start at Plus, with client dashboards.
- White label: a paid add-on on Elite and Enterprise.
- AI: AI Assist for captions, rewriting and spell-checking.
- Networks: Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, X, LinkedIn, Google My Business, YouTube, WordPress, Threads and Bluesky.
- Agents: the pricing page does not mention an API or an MCP server.
Choose Sendible if you run an agency where many people log in and you want white label on top. Its workspace model is close to Postprism's, at a higher price per workspace: three client workspaces are $99 on Sendible Plus and $49 on Postprism Freelancer. See our Sendible alternative page.
7. Later: For Instagram-first visual planning
Later's pricing page (checked October 2026) shows plans billed yearly: Starter at $18.75 a month with 1 social set (8 profiles, one of each network) and 1 user, Growth at $37.50 with 2 social sets and 2 users, and Scale at $82.50 with 6 social sets and 4 users. Each has a 14-day free trial, and yearly billing saves 25%.
- Post limits: up to 30 posts per profile on Starter, 180 on Growth, unlimited on Scale.
- AI: 5, 50 or 100 AI credits a month.
- Collaboration: approvals and a social inbox start at Growth.
- Add-ons: on Growth and Scale, an extra social set is $11.25 a month, an extra user $3.75 and 100 extra AI credits $3.75.
- Networks: Instagram, Facebook, Threads, Pinterest, TikTok, LinkedIn, YouTube and Snapchat.
- Agents: the pricing page does not mention an API or an MCP server.
Choose Later if Instagram and TikTok are the centre of your plan and you want a visual-first workflow. Its network list does not include X or Bluesky, so check your mix before you move. See our Later alternative page.
8. Metricool: For analytics-led marketers with several small brands
Metricool's pricing page (checked October 2026) prices by brand, where a brand is all of one company's social profiles.
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Brands |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 1 brand, 20 scheduled posts a month, no LinkedIn or X, 30 days of analytics |
| Starter | From $20/month | From $25/month | From 5 brands, up to 10 |
| Advanced | From $53/month | From $67/month | From 15 brands, up to 50 |
- Agents: Metricool MCP is on every plan, including Free. The Metricool API (Zapier, Make) is on Advanced.
- Approvals: the post approval system is on Advanced.
- X: X publishing needs an add-on on paid plans.
- Networks: Facebook, Instagram, Threads, X, Bluesky, Pinterest, TikTok, YouTube, Twitch, LinkedIn and Google Business Profile, plus ads integrations for Meta, Google and TikTok.
Choose Metricool if reporting and competitor analysis are your main deliverable and you manage several small brands. See our Metricool alternative page.
Hootsuite alternatives compared feature by feature (checked October 2026)
| Tool | Free plan | Trial | Approvals from | Bulk upload from | MCP from |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Postprism | 7-day trial instead | 7 days | Freelancer ($49) | Every plan (CSV, 200 rows) | Every plan |
| Hootsuite | No | 14 days, 10 to 20 posts a day | Advanced ($399 per user) | Every plan (350 posts), not on trial | Perch, Nest, Lumen and Parliament; Lumen on Enterprise |
| Sprout Social | No | 30 days | Not stated on pricing page | Not compared here | Not listed (API on Advanced) |
| Agorapulse | Not compared here | 30 days | Professional | Advanced (200 posts) | Every plan (self-hosted) |
| Buffer | Yes, 3 channels | 14 days on paid plans | Team | Not compared here | Official server; plans not stated |
| SocialPilot | No | Eligible plans | Standard | Premium | All paid plans |
| Sendible | No | 14 days | Plus | CSV bulk scheduling listed | Not listed |
| Later | No | 14 days | Growth | Not listed on pricing page | Not listed |
| Metricool | Yes, 1 brand | Not compared here | Advanced | Not compared here | Every plan, including Free |
"Not compared here" means the vendor's pricing page did not state it clearly enough for us to quote. Check those details on the vendor's own site before deciding.
How to choose a Hootsuite alternative
Start from what your team does all day, not from a feature list. Five questions settle most decisions.
- How many people will log in within 12 months? Per-user tools (Hootsuite, Sprout Social, Agorapulse) multiply with every hire. Flat and per-plan tools (Postprism, SocialPilot, Sendible) do not, up to the plan's limit.
- Who needs to approve posts? If a client or manager signs off, check which plan unlocks approvals. On Hootsuite it is Advanced, on Agorapulse Professional, on SocialPilot Standard, on Sendible Plus, on Later Growth and on Postprism Freelancer.
- How much of your day is the inbox? If you answer hundreds of comments and DMs, an inbox-first suite like Agorapulse or Sprout Social is the closer replacement. If publishing is the job, you can stop paying for an inbox you rarely open.
- Do you want each network to get its own post? If your LinkedIn, X and Instagram audiences want different things, a tool that creates a version per network in one step saves the most time.
- Will an AI agent do part of the work? Decide whether the agent drafts for review or schedules directly, then check where MCP sits on each tool's plans.
| If you are… | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A solo creator or founder leaving Hootsuite Standard | Postprism Solo | $19 flat for 6 networks, a version per network, MCP included |
| A small marketing team that needs sign-off | Postprism Freelancer | 3 members, 3 workspaces and approvals for $49 |
| An agency with up to 10 clients | Postprism Agency | 10 workspaces, 10 members, approvals and CSV export for $99 |
| A large team with customer care and governance needs | Sprout Social or Agorapulse | Inbox and reporting depth, priced per seat |
| An agency with 50+ accounts that wants white label | SocialPilot or Sendible | Plan pricing with white-label options |
| An Instagram-first brand | Later | Visual planning built around social sets |
| An analytics-led marketer | Metricool | Brand-based pricing and reporting depth |
For a wider view of the market, see our best social media scheduling tools roundup and the scheduling tools pricing guide.
Why people switch from Hootsuite
Every person is another seat
Hootsuite's plans are priced per user a month, billed annually: $99 on Standard, $199 on Professional and $399 on Advanced. For a solo user that is a single fee. For a team of five on Professional it is $995 a month, and the bill rises with every hire, freelancer or client who needs a login. Postprism Agency covers 10 people for $99.
Approvals need the top self-serve plan
Post approval workflows and internal comments are marked Advanced and Enterprise only in Hootsuite's plan table. A small team that only needs someone to check posts before they go out has to buy Advanced seats at $399 each. Postprism's approval step is on Freelancer at $49 a month for 3 members, with request-changes notes.
Paying for a suite you do not use
Hootsuite's inbox, listening, ads and advocacy tools are valuable to teams that use them. Many smaller teams do not: they plan a calendar, write posts and publish. For them, the price pays for features that sit unopened.
One AI step for every network
Hootsuite's Wisdom generates and refines captions for each network, with 100 AI credits a month on self-serve plans. The difference in Postprism is the workflow: one click on Enhance with AI returns a version for every network you selected in a single request, each editable side by side, with over-limit text flagged in red, and plans include 150 to 2,000 adaptations a month.
Agent access on the entry plan
Hootsuite has invested in MCP, with four servers for publishing, inbox, listening and advocacy. Its plan table lists the Lumen connector on Enterprise, and the MCP page does not say which plans include the rest. Postprism's MCP server is on every plan from $19, works across workspaces for agencies, and lets an agent upload media, schedule posts and read analytics. Our guide to the best schedulers for AI agents compares this across the market.
A worked example: a three-person team with three brands
Consider Fernway Studio, a fictional design agency. It runs social for its own brand and two clients, each posting to LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest. That is 18 accounts. Two people write posts, and the founder approves everything before it goes out.
- Hootsuite Advanced: 3 users at $399 is $1,197 a month billed annually, the lowest self-serve plan with approval workflows.
- Hootsuite Professional without approvals: 3 users at $199 is $597 a month, with approvals handled outside the tool.
- Postprism Freelancer: $49 a month ($36 billed yearly), with each brand in its own workspace, the founder approving in the Approvals queue and the two writers as Editors.
The saving is large, but the bigger change is the work. Instead of writing a caption and adjusting it for each network, a writer drafts once, clicks Enhance with AI and gets an X post, a LinkedIn post, a TikTok caption and the rest, each ready to edit and send for approval.
How to switch from Hootsuite to Postprism
A clean switch takes an afternoon per brand. Keep two weeks scheduled in Hootsuite while you set up, so nothing goes quiet during the move.
- Export your content calendar. Hootsuite's plan table lists social content calendar exporting as a .csv or .pdf on every plan. Export the CSV and tidy it into three columns:
content,scheduled_atand, where a post has an image or video,media_url. - Export any reports you want to keep. Save the analytics you report on before your Hootsuite access ends.
- Start the trial and create workspaces. Sign up, then create one workspace per brand or client before connecting anything.
- Connect your networks. Connect X, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest accounts in each workspace.
- Invite the team. Add writers as Editors, approvers as Admins, and clients who only need to look as Viewers.
- Set up your brand identity. Add your industry, tone, values, audience and key messages so Enhance with AI writes in your voice.
- Bulk Upload the CSV. Upload the file (up to 200 rows and 2 MB per file, on every plan), choose the platforms for the upload and check the preview. Split larger calendars into several files. For XLSX or JSON, or files in Google Drive or Dropbox, use the AI Scheduling Assistant instead. See bulk scheduling.
- Add per-network versions. Open your most important posts and click Enhance with AI to give each network its own version.
- Reconnect your agents. If Claude or ChatGPT worked with Hootsuite's MCP servers, connect them to Postprism's MCP server and ask for one week of drafts to test.
- Stop, then cancel. Delete or pause the remaining Hootsuite posts before your first Postprism post goes out, then cancel once a full week has published.
Our guide to bulk scheduling tools covers spreadsheet formats in more depth.
The verdict
Hootsuite is a strong choice for large teams that live in a shared inbox, run listening and manage ads in the same place. For teams that mainly plan, write and publish, Postprism is the best Hootsuite alternative: $19 a month flat for 6 networks, a native version of every post from one click of Enhance with AI, approvals from $49 for 3 members, 10 people and 10 brands for $99, and an MCP server for AI agents on every plan. Choose Sprout Social for enterprise reporting and governance, Agorapulse for an inbox-first suite, Buffer for a free start on a few channels, SocialPilot or Sendible for white-label agency work, Later for Instagram-first planning and Metricool for analytics. For the two-way comparison, read Postprism vs Hootsuite.
Try Postprism Free for 7 Days
Write once and publish natively on 6 networks, with a flat price that does not charge per seat, approvals from $49 and an MCP server for your AI agents.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best Hootsuite alternative in 2026?
Postprism is the best Hootsuite alternative for most teams in 2026. It publishes to 6 networks with a separate version of every post for a flat $19 a month, against Hootsuite's $99 per user a month billed annually, includes approvals from $49 for 3 members, and has an MCP server for AI agents on every plan.
How much does Hootsuite cost in 2026?
Hootsuite's plans page, checked October 2026, lists Standard at $99, Professional at $199 and Advanced at $399 per user a month, based on annual billing and before tax. Standard connects up to 10 social accounts; Professional and Advanced are unlimited. Enterprise is priced on request.
Does Hootsuite have a free plan?
No. Hootsuite offers a 14-day free trial of Standard, Professional and Advanced, with daily posting limits of 10 to 20 posts per organisation and no bulk scheduling during the trial. Buffer and Metricool have free plans, and Postprism has a 7-day free trial on every plan.
Does Hootsuite have an MCP server?
Yes. Hootsuite's MCP page lists four servers: Perch for content creation and publishing, Nest for the social inbox, Lumen for listening and Parliament for employee advocacy, with pre-built connectors for ChatGPT and Claude. Its plans table lists the Lumen MCP connector on Enterprise only, and the MCP page does not say which plans include the others. Postprism's MCP server, with 11 tools, is on every plan.
Does Sprout Social have an MCP server?
Sprout Social's pricing page, checked October 2026, does not mention an MCP server. It includes Trellis, its AI agent, with 100 agent credits per seat a month, and the Sprout API on the Advanced plan at $399 per seat billed annually.
Does Agorapulse have an MCP server?
Yes. Agorapulse's pricing page lists connecting ChatGPT or Claude through the self-hosted Agorapulse MCP on every plan. Plans start at $79 per user a month billed annually.
Is there a cheaper alternative to Hootsuite?
Yes, several. Postprism Solo is $19 a month for one brand on 6 networks, Later Starter is $18.75 billed yearly, SocialPilot Essentials is $30 and Buffer Essentials is $5 per channel. For a team with approvals, Postprism Freelancer is $49 a month for 3 members, against $1,197 for three Hootsuite Advanced seats.
Is Buffer better than Hootsuite?
For a solo user on a few channels, Buffer is simpler and cheaper, with a free plan for 3 channels and Essentials at $5 per channel. Hootsuite adds an inbox, listening, ads and mobile apps on every plan. For teams that want approvals and a version per network at a flat price, Postprism fits better than either. Read Buffer vs Hootsuite for the full comparison.
Which Hootsuite alternative is best for agencies?
Postprism Agency, for most agencies with up to 10 clients: 10 workspaces, 10 team members, approvals, the REST API and analytics CSV export for $99 a month. SocialPilot and Sendible suit agencies that need dozens of accounts and white-label options, and Agorapulse suits agencies that run client inboxes.
Can I move my Hootsuite posts to Postprism?
Yes. Export your Hootsuite content calendar as a CSV, keep the content, scheduled_at and optional media_url columns, and upload it with Postprism's Bulk Upload, which takes up to 200 rows and 2 MB per file on every plan.
Sources
- Hootsuite, checked October 2026: plans and features by plan, MCP servers, social network integrations, mobile apps, FAQ, developer API overview
- Vendor pricing pages, checked October 2026: Sprout Social, Agorapulse, Buffer, SocialPilot and its pricing reference, Sendible, Later, Metricool
- Other vendor pages, checked October 2026: Buffer Claude integration and MCP server
- Postprism: pricing, AI content adaptation, team collaboration, bulk scheduling, AI agents
Written by Shahriar Rumel, Founder. Reviewed 11 October 2026.




