Scheduler Comparisons

Best Sprout Social Alternatives in 2026: 8 Tools Compared

Shahriar Rumel
Shahriar Rumel
24 min read

What's the best Sprout Social alternative? Postprism is the best Sprout Social alternative in 2026: it publishes one brand to all 6 of its networks for a flat $19 a month, gives a team of 3 with approvals and 3 brands everything for $49, and writes a native version of every post for each network in one request, while Sprout Social charges $79 to $399 per seat a month billed annually. Hootsuite suits enterprise teams that want an inbox, listening and MCP servers across its products, Agorapulse suits community managers who live in the inbox, Sendible suits agencies that want unlimited users and branded client reports, Vista Social suits multi-location brands that manage reviews, SocialPilot suits budget agencies with many accounts, Zoho Social suits small businesses that want a low entry price, and Buffer suits one person on a few channels.

Sprout Social is one of the most complete social media suites on the market. Its Smart Inbox, reporting and approval workflows are why large teams buy it. People start looking for a Sprout Social alternative for practical reasons: every person who logs in pays for a seat, the Essentials and Standard plans include only 5 social profiles, listening and Premium Analytics are paid add-ons, and the Sprout API sits on the Advanced plan at $399 a seat. If you are weighing just the two products, our head-to-head page, Postprism vs Sprout Social, covers that comparison in detail. This guide looks wider, ranking eight tools on cost at real team sizes, network coverage, approvals, AI writing and agent access, with every competitor price checked on the vendor's own page in October 2026.

Why Postprism is the Sprout Social alternative to pick

  • Flat pricing with no per-seat fee. Solo is $19 a month for 1 member and 1 workspace, Freelancer $49 for 3 members and 3 workspaces, and Agency $99 for 10 members and 10 workspaces, with unlimited posts on every plan. Adding a teammate inside your plan does not add to the bill. See pricing.
  • All 6 networks in every workspace. A workspace connects one account on each of LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest. That is one brand on all six networks for $19, where Sprout's two lower plans stop at 5 profiles.
  • A native version for every network in one request. Write once, click Enhance with AI, and Postprism returns a separate, editable version for every network you selected. Plans include 150, 500 or 2,000 AI adaptations a month. See AI content adaptation.
  • Your AI agent can run it via MCP, on every plan. Postprism's hosted MCP server gives Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients 11 tools to list workspaces and accounts, upload media, create and schedule posts and read analytics. The REST API is on Freelancer and Agency. See AI agents.

Key findings

  • Sprout Social charges per seat. Sprout Social's pricing page lists Essentials at $79 per seat a month billed annually ($99 billed monthly), Standard at $199, Professional at $299 and Advanced at $399, plus a custom Enterprise plan.
  • The lower plans stop at 5 profiles. Essentials and Standard include 5 social profiles; Professional and Advanced include unlimited profiles. One brand on 6 networks therefore needs Professional, at $299 a seat.
  • Listening and Premium Analytics cost extra. Sprout lists both as individual add-ons from the Standard plan up, and the Sprout API and Helpdesk integrations on Advanced.
  • No official Sprout MCP server. We found community-built MCP servers that wrap the Sprout API, but no official one, as of October 2026.
  • Agent access is spreading elsewhere. Hootsuite runs four MCP servers, Vista Social lists one on Advanced and up, SocialPilot on all paid plans, Zoho Social has one set up through mcp.zoho.com, and Agorapulse has a beta connector that creates drafts.
  • Postprism stays at $19 for one brand on all 6 networks, and moves to $49 or $99 only when you add brands or team members.

What Sprout Social costs at real team sizes, against Postprism and the rest

Per-seat, per-profile, per-workspace and flat pricing behave very differently as a team grows. The table prices four common set-ups on the lowest plan that covers each one. Sprout Social, Hootsuite and Agorapulse publish per-seat prices billed annually, so those figures are the annual price per month; the others are monthly list prices. All competitor prices were checked October 2026 and link to the vendor's pricing page.

Tool and plan1 person, 1 brand, 5 networks1 person, 1 brand, 6 networks3 people, 3 brands, approvals10 people, 10 brands
Postprism (flat)$19 (Solo)$19 (Solo)$49 (Freelancer)$99 (Agency)
Sprout Social (per seat, billed annually)$79 (Essentials, 5 profiles)$299 (Professional, unlimited profiles)$897 (Professional, 3 seats)$2,990 (Professional, 10 seats)
Hootsuite (per user, billed annually)$99 (Standard, up to 10 accounts)$99 (Standard)$1,197 (Advanced, 3 users; approvals are on Advanced)$3,990 (Advanced, 10 users)
Agorapulse (per user, billed annually)$79 (Standard, 10 profiles)$79 (Standard)$357 (Professional, 3 users) plus extra profiles beyond 10$1,190 (Professional, 10 users) plus extra profiles
Sendible (monthly, unlimited users)$35 (Core, 1 workspace of 6 profiles)$35 (Core, 6 profiles)$99 (Plus, 3 workspaces)$299 (Elite, 15 workspaces)
Vista Social (monthly)$99 (Professional, 15 profiles), plus $29 if X is one of them$128 (Professional plus the $29 X add-on)$228 (Advanced, 30 profiles, plus X)From $478 (Scale, 70 profiles, plus X); larger teams move to Enterprise
SocialPilot (monthly)$30 (Essentials, 7 accounts)$30 (Essentials, 7 accounts)$50 (Standard, 15 accounts, 3 users)$200 (Ultimate, 50 accounts, unlimited users)
Zoho Social (monthly)$15 (Standard, 1 brand)$15 (Standard)$111 (Premium plus 2 brand add-ons at $23)$380 (Agency, 10 clients and 5 members, plus 5 members at $12)
Buffer (monthly, per channel)$25 (Essentials)$30 (Essentials)Up to $150 (Team, 15 channels at $10)Up to $500 (Team, 50 channels, lower rate above 10)

How to read it: the gap with Sprout Social is widest where it hurts most, at team sizes. Three people on Sprout Professional cost $897 a month billed annually, or $10,764 a year; on Postprism Freelancer they cost $49 a month. A ten-person agency on Sprout Professional pays $2,990 a month against $99 on Postprism Agency. Some of the budget tools come close to Postprism at certain sizes: Zoho Social Standard is $15 a month for one brand, and SocialPilot Standard is $50 for 3 users and 15 accounts. Their limits show up elsewhere, in bulk scheduling plans, AI credits or add-on fees, which the sections below cover.

Best Sprout Social alternatives at a glance (checked October 2026)

RankToolBest forStarting priceNetworksAIMCP and agent access
1PostprismTeams that publish one brand, or ten, to many networks at a flat price$19/month flat9Enhance with AI writes a version for every selected network in one request; 150 to 2,000 a monthHosted MCP server, 11 tools, every plan; REST API on Freelancer and Agency
2HootsuiteEnterprise teams that want inbox, listening and agents across products$99 per user/month, billed annually9 for publishing, plus WhatsApp in the inboxWisdom AI on every planFour MCP servers: Perch, Lumen, Nest and Parliament
3AgorapulseCommunity managers who live in the inbox$79 per user/month, billed annually10, including Google Business ProfileAI Writing AssistantBeta MCP connector that creates drafts
4SendibleAgencies that want unlimited users and branded client reports$35/month10, including Google Business and WordPressAI AssistNo official server; a Zapier MCP connection with 4 actions
5Vista SocialMulti-location brands that manage reviews$99/month13, X as a $29 add-on1,000 to 3,500 AI credits a monthMCP server with 50+ tools, Advanced and up
6SocialPilotBudget agencies with many accounts$30/month ($25.50 billed yearly)10500 AI credits and upMCP on all paid plans; API on Enterprise
7Zoho SocialSmall businesses that want a low entry priceFree; paid from $15/month ($10 billed yearly)13 to 14 channels per brand on paid plansZia, 5 to 80 AI creditsMCP server through mcp.zoho.com, 31 tools
8BufferOne person on a few channelsFree; paid from $5 per channel/monthWide list, including Mastodon, Google Business and Substack NotesAI AssistantOfficial remote MCP server

How we ranked these Sprout Social alternatives

Every tool was judged on the same five questions, using each vendor's own pricing and help pages in October 2026. We weighted the first two most heavily, because they are why people leave Sprout Social.

CriterionWhat we checkedWhy it matters for Sprout Social users
Cost as the team growsThe bill for 1, 3 and 10 people, and the plan that unlocks approvalsSprout charges every person a seat, from $79 to $399 a month
Profiles per planHow many accounts the entry plan covers, and what more costSprout's Essentials and Standard stop at 5 profiles
Per-network contentWhether each network gets its own version of a post, written by you or by AIIdentical captions everywhere waste each network's format
Agent accessMCP, API, which plan unlocks them, and what an agent can actually doSprout's API is on Advanced, and it has no official MCP server
Switching costBulk import, trial length and how fast a month of posts can moveA move that loses a week of posting costs reach

What Sprout Social does well, and where it gets harder

Before the list, it is worth being clear about Sprout Social's strengths, because they are real and they are why the price is what it is.

  • A wide network list. Sprout's integrations page lists Bluesky, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Reddit, Snapchat, Threads, TikTok, X and YouTube.
  • Inbox and care. Standard adds a consolidated inbox and collaboration tools, and Advanced adds sentiment in the Smart Inbox and reviews.
  • Approval workflows. Sprout's publishing features page describes workflows that guide internal and external team members through approving messages, and a content calendar you can share with outside stakeholders.
  • Timing data. The same page says Optimal Send Times examines 16 weeks of audience data to suggest when to post.
  • Reporting. Professional adds competitor, tag and paid insights, and Premium Analytics is an add-on.
  • AI. Every plan lists 100 AI agent credits per seat a month. Sprout's AI page describes AI Assist for generating and refining copy, and Trellis as a strategic AI teammate; the publishing page adds caption suggestions and alt text. Enhance Post by AI Assist starts at Professional.
  • A long trial. Sprout offers a 30-day free trial.

Where it gets harder is the shape of the bill. Every person pays for a seat, the cheaper plans hold 5 profiles, and the features that set Sprout apart (listening, Premium Analytics, the API) sit on higher plans or cost extra. If your team mainly plans, writes and schedules, you are paying for a care and listening suite you may not use. Those are the gaps the tools below fill in different ways.

SituationWhat happens on Sprout SocialBest alternative
One brand on more than 5 networksEssentials and Standard stop at 5 profiles, so you need Professional at $299 a seatPostprism Solo, $19 for all 6 networks
A small team of 3 with approvalsThree seats on Professional, $897 a month billed annuallyPostprism Freelancer, $49 for 3 members and 3 workspaces
An agency with 10 clientsTen seats on Professional, $2,990 a monthPostprism Agency, $99 for 10 members and 10 workspaces
You want an AI agent to schedule postsNo official MCP server; the API is on AdvancedPostprism, MCP on every plan
Inbox and listening are the main jobSprout's strength, with listening as an add-onHootsuite or Agorapulse
You manage reviews for many locationsReviews and sentiment on AdvancedVista Social

1. Postprism: For teams that publish one brand, or ten, to many networks at a flat price

Postprism is a social media scheduler that publishes to X, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest from one calendar. Its idea is simple: write once, publish natively on every platform, and let your AI agent run it via MCP if you want. Each post holds a separate, editable version for every network you pick, so you never have to send the same caption everywhere. For the direct comparison, read Postprism vs Sprout Social.

What it publishes on each network

NetworkWhat Postprism publishes
XPosts with up to 4 images
LinkedInText, a single image or a video, to personal profiles and Company Pages
TikTokVideo and photo posts, published directly or sent to the inbox as a draft
YouTubeFull video uploads with title, tags, privacy, playlist, thumbnail and made-for-kids setting
BlueskyText posts
PinterestImage Pins

Plans

PlanMonthlyMembers and workspacesAI adaptations a monthExtras
Solo$191 and 1150MCP server, Bulk Upload, analytics, unlimited posts
Freelancer$493 and 3500Approvals, REST API
Agency$9910 and 102,000Approvals, REST API, analytics CSV export

Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial.

Why Sprout Social users pick it

  • No seat maths. A team of 3 on Freelancer or 10 on Agency pays the plan price, not a price per person. Each workspace holds one brand on all six networks, so a client or a new brand is a workspace, not a new set of profile slots.
  • Enhance with AI. One click returns a version of your post for every selected network, shaped to each one's length and style. Anything over a network's limit turns red so you can edit it.
  • Brand identity. The AI writes with your saved brand name, industry, tone, values, audience and key messages, so drafts sound like you from the start. See brand voice.
  • Approvals without enterprise pricing. Freelancer and Agency include Owner, Admin, Editor and read-only Viewer roles, plus an approval step where Owners and Admins approve or request changes with notes. See team collaboration.
  • Calendar, kanban and bulk. Month, week and day views with a platform filter, a kanban board with Drafts, Scheduled and Published columns, and Bulk Upload for a CSV of up to 200 rows and 2 MB on every plan. See bulk scheduling.
  • Analytics on every plan. Impressions, reach, clicks, engagement rate and top posts for X, YouTube, LinkedIn Pages and TikTok, over 30, 60 or 90 days.
  • Agents. The hosted MCP server's 11 tools cover posts, media, analytics, platforms and workspaces. Claude and ChatGPT setup guides walk through connecting in a few minutes.

Choose Postprism if your team's work is planning, writing and scheduling across many networks, you want approvals without paying for every seat, or you want an AI agent to draft and schedule into a calendar you review. Start a 7-day free trial.

2. Hootsuite: For enterprise teams that want inbox, listening and agents across products

Hootsuite's plans page (checked October 2026) gives paid plans from $99 per user a month for Standard and $199 for Professional, up to $399 for Advanced, with lower per-user rates on annual billing, plus a custom Enterprise plan. Standard manages up to 10 social accounts; Professional and Advanced manage unlimited accounts. Each paid plan has a 14-day free trial, with daily posting limits and no bulk scheduling during the trial.

  • Inbox: every plan responds to messages from one inbox; Professional automates inbox replies and workflows, and Advanced assigns and auto-routes messages.
  • Approvals: reviewing and approving content with your team is part of Advanced.
  • AI: Wisdom, Hootsuite's AI teammate, is on every plan, and Standard lists generating posts and images with AI.
  • Agents: Hootsuite's MCP page lists four servers: Perch for content creation and publishing, Lumen for insights and listening, Nest for the inbox and customer care, and Parliament for employee advocacy. ChatGPT and Claude have pre-built connectors; you need access to the relevant Hootsuite product.
  • Networks: Hootsuite's integrations page lists publishing to Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, YouTube, X, LinkedIn, Threads, Pinterest and Bluesky, with WhatsApp messages in the inbox.

Choose Hootsuite if you want a suite on the same scale as Sprout, with a deeper set of agent connectors, and the per-user budget is there. It costs about the same as Sprout per person, and approvals need Advanced. Compare it with Postprism on our Hootsuite alternative page, or read Sprout Social vs Hootsuite.

3. Agorapulse: For community managers who live in the inbox

Agorapulse's pricing page (checked October 2026) lists Standard at $79 per user a month billed annually ($99 monthly), Professional at $119 ($149) and Advanced at $149 ($199), each with 10 social profiles, plus a Custom plan with unlimited profiles. Extra profiles are charged monthly per profile. Every plan has a 30-day free trial.

  • Inbox: an all-in-one social inbox on every plan.
  • Approvals: simple approval workflows start at Professional; multi-step approvals are on Custom.
  • Bulk: uploading and scheduling up to 200 posts from a CSV file starts at Advanced.
  • Reporting history: 6 months of data on Standard, 12 on Professional and 24 on Advanced.
  • Agents: Agorapulse's MCP article says the connector, in beta, works with Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot and creates draft posts and calendar notes. It does not publish; you schedule and publish the drafts inside Agorapulse.

Choose Agorapulse if replying to comments and DMs is the main job and you want Sprout-style inbox depth at a lower per-user price. Ten profiles per plan is double Sprout's lower tiers. See our Agorapulse alternative page.

4. Sendible: For agencies that want unlimited users and branded client reports

Sendible's pricing page (checked October 2026) prices by workspace, where each workspace holds 6 profiles, and every plan includes unlimited users. Yearly billing takes 15% off, and there is a 14-day free trial.

PlanMonthlyWorkspacesProfiles
Core$3516
Plus$99318
Premium$199742
Elite$2991590
Enterprise$75050300
  • Approvals: from Plus.
  • Reports: standard reports on every plan, custom branded reports from Premium. White label is a paid add-on on Elite and Enterprise.
  • Bulk: a bulk scheduler with CSV uploads is listed in the feature breakdown.
  • Networks: Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, X, LinkedIn, Google My Business, YouTube, WordPress, Threads and Bluesky.
  • Agents: we found no official Sendible MCP server. Zapier's Sendible MCP is a Zapier product with four actions: approve a draft, create a queued post, create a scheduled post and delete a post.

Choose Sendible if you run an agency where clients and many staff log in, and branded reports are part of what you sell. Unlimited users is the clearest contrast with Sprout's seats. See our Sendible alternative page.

5. Vista Social: For multi-location brands that manage reviews

Vista Social's pricing page (checked October 2026) lists Professional at $99 a month ($950 billed yearly) with 15 profiles, Advanced at $199 ($1,910 a year) with 30 profiles and Scale at $449 ($4,310 a year) with 70 profiles, plus a custom Enterprise plan with unlimited profiles. Each paid plan has a 14-day free trial. X is a $29 a month add-on on every plan.

  • Reviews: Facebook and Google Business reviews on Professional; Advanced adds Yelp, TripAdvisor, OpenTable, Trustpilot, the App Store and Google Play.
  • Inbox and approvals: a social inbox on every plan, approval stages on Professional, and approval workflows for internal teams and clients on Advanced.
  • AI: 1,000, 2,000 or 3,500 AI credits a month by plan, unlimited on Enterprise.
  • Agents: Vista Social's MCP page describes 50+ tools for scheduling, analytics, inbox, ideas, media and reporting, included with Advanced and higher.
  • Networks: Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram, X, Google Business, YouTube, TikTok, Reddit, Pinterest, Snapchat, Tumblr, Threads and Bluesky.

Choose Vista Social if you manage reviews and social for many locations and want an inbox and an MCP server at a lower price than Sprout. Remember to add $29 a month if you post to X. See our Vista Social alternative page.

6. SocialPilot: For budget agencies with many accounts

SocialPilot's plans page and its agent-readable pricing file (checked October 2026) list four self-serve plans plus Enterprise:

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyAccountsUsersAI credits
Essentials$30$25.50/month71500
Standard$50$42.50/month1531,000
Premium$100$85/month2565,000
Ultimate$200$170/month50UnlimitedUnlimited
  • Add-ons: extra social accounts are $4 a month and extra users $5.
  • Approvals and inbox: approvals and the social inbox from Standard; client approval and white-label reports from Premium.
  • Bulk: bulk scheduling and CSV upload start at Premium.
  • Agents: MCP on all paid plans; API access on Enterprise.
  • Networks: Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, Threads, TikTok, Pinterest, YouTube, Google Business Profile and Bluesky.

Choose SocialPilot if you run an agency with many accounts on a tight budget and want an inbox and client approvals well below Sprout's prices. Note that bulk upload, which is on every Postprism plan, starts at SocialPilot's $100 Premium plan. See our SocialPilot alternative page.

7. Zoho Social: For small businesses that want a low entry price

Zoho Social's pricing page (checked October 2026, US dollar prices from the page's pricing data) lists:

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyBrandsMembersAI credits
Free$0$01 brand, 6 channels15
Standard$15$10/month1140
Professional$40$30/month1140
Premium$65$40/month1380
Agency$320$230/month10 clients580
Agency Plus$460$330/month20 clients580
  • Bulk and monitoring: bulk scheduling and a monitoring dashboard from Professional.
  • Approvals and inbox: content approvals and workflow, and a unified inbox, from Premium.
  • Clients: Agency and Agency Plus include free logins for clients.
  • Add-ons: an extra brand on Premium is $23 a month, and an extra member $12 a month.
  • Agents: Zoho Social's MCP page describes 31 tools to draft, schedule, publish and monitor posts, set up through mcp.zoho.com. It does not say which plans include it.

Choose Zoho Social if you are a small business that wants a free plan or a very low starting price, and you can live with credits and features that unlock plan by plan. Approvals for 3 brands come to $111 a month, against $49 on Postprism Freelancer. See our Zoho Social alternative page.

8. Buffer: For one person on a few channels

Buffer's pricing page (checked October 2026) lists Essentials at $5 a month per channel ($60 per channel billed yearly) for 1 user, and Team at $10 a month per channel ($120 billed yearly) with unlimited team members and approval workflows. Channels above 10 cost less each. Paid plans have a 14-day free trial.

  • Free plan: up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel and 1 user, with 1 API key at 3,000 requests a month.
  • Agents: Buffer's Claude integration page describes an official remote MCP server for drafting posts, reviewing the queue and scheduling from Claude.
  • Approvals: on Team only, at twice the per-channel price.
  • Networks: Buffer's supported channels include Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest, TikTok, Google Business Profiles, Mastodon, YouTube Shorts, Threads, Bluesky and Substack Notes.

Choose Buffer if you are one person on two or three channels and want a free or very cheap start. Per-channel pricing rises quickly once a team needs approvals: 15 channels on Team is up to $150 a month. See our Buffer alternative page or the wider Buffer alternatives guide.

Sprout Social alternatives compared feature by feature (checked October 2026)

ToolPricing modelTrialApprovals fromBulk upload fromMCP
PostprismFlat per plan7 daysFreelancer ($49)Every plan (CSV, 200 rows)Every plan, 11 tools
Sprout SocialPer seat30 daysNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNo official server; API on Advanced
HootsuitePer user14 daysAdvancedPaid plans, not during the trialFour servers, with product access
AgorapulsePer user30 daysProfessionalAdvanced (200 posts)Beta connector, drafts only
SendiblePer workspace, unlimited users14 daysPlusListed on plansVia Zapier only
Vista SocialPer plan, by profiles and users14 daysProfessionalNot compared hereAdvanced and up, 50+ tools
SocialPilotBy accountsFor eligible plansStandardPremiumAll paid plans
Zoho SocialPer plan plus add-ons15 days, plus a free planPremiumProfessionalVia mcp.zoho.com, 31 tools
BufferPer channel14 days, plus a free planTeamEvery planOfficial remote server

"Not stated" and "Not compared here" mean the vendor's pages we opened did not say clearly enough for us to quote. Check those details on the vendor's own site before deciding.

How to choose a Sprout Social alternative

Start from what your team actually does each week, not from a feature list. Five questions settle most decisions.

  1. How many people need to log in? Count everyone who writes, approves or just looks. With per-seat tools, that number drives the bill more than anything else.
  2. Is your work publishing or care? If most of the day is answering messages and reviews, an inbox-first suite such as Agorapulse, Hootsuite or Vista Social is the like-for-like move. If most of it is planning and scheduling, you can stop paying for care tools.
  3. How many brands and profiles? Price your real count in 12 months. Profile caps, workspace bundles and per-channel fees all look small at the start.
  4. Who signs off? If a client or manager approves posts, check which plan unlocks approvals: Freelancer on Postprism, Advanced on Hootsuite, Professional on Agorapulse, Plus on Sendible, Premium on Zoho Social.
  5. Will an AI agent do part of the work? Decide whether the agent drafts for review or schedules directly, then check what each tool's MCP server can do and which plan includes it.
If you are…PickWhy
A founder or marketer running one brandPostprism Solo$19 flat for 6 networks, a version per network, MCP included
A small in-house team with sign-offPostprism Freelancer3 members, 3 workspaces and approvals for $49
An agency with up to 10 clientsPostprism Agency10 members, 10 workspaces, approvals and CSV export for $99
An enterprise team with care and listeningHootsuiteInbox, listening and four MCP servers
A community team that lives in the inboxAgorapulseInbox on every plan, from $79 per user
An agency selling branded reportsSendibleUnlimited users and custom branded reports
A multi-location brand with reviewsVista SocialReview management across many sites

For a wider view of the market, see our best social media scheduling tools roundup and the scheduling tools pricing guide.

Why people leave Sprout Social

Every seat adds to the bill

Sprout's per-seat model means the price grows with the team, not with the work. A writer, an editor and a manager who only approves each need a seat. On Professional, three people cost $897 a month billed annually. On Postprism Freelancer, the same three people cost $49, with read-only Viewer access for anyone who only needs to look.

Five profiles on the lower plans

Essentials and Standard include 5 social profiles. A brand that posts to LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest already needs six, which means Professional at $299 a seat. Postprism connects all six networks in every workspace from Solo at $19.

Paying for tools you do not use

Sprout is built for teams that run care, listening and reporting together. Many teams buy it for scheduling and approvals and find that most of the per-seat price pays for features they rarely open, while listening and Premium Analytics still cost extra on top.

One post at a time, network by network

Sprout's AI Assist suggests captions and, on Professional and up, enhances a post. The difference in Postprism is the workflow: one click on Enhance with AI returns a version for every network you selected in a single request, each editable side by side, with over-limit text flagged in red.

Agents need Advanced, or a community server

The Sprout API can create posts and read analytics, but it sits on Advanced at $399 a seat, and Sprout has no official MCP server. Postprism's MCP server is on every plan, works across workspaces, and keeps any post without a date as a draft for a person to review. Our guide to the best schedulers for AI agents compares this across the market.

A worked example: a three-person team, three brands

Consider Northfield Studio, a fictional design studio. It runs its own brand and two client brands, each on LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest. That is 18 profiles. A content lead writes, a designer adds visuals, and the studio's founder approves everything before it goes out.

  • Sprout Social: 18 profiles rule out Essentials and Standard, so three seats on Professional cost $897 a month billed annually, or $10,764 a year.
  • Hootsuite: approvals need Advanced, so three users cost $1,197 a month billed annually.
  • Postprism Freelancer: $49 a month, with each brand in its own workspace on all six networks, the founder approving in the Approvals queue, and the team of three included.

The saving is large, but the bigger change is the work. Instead of writing a caption and adjusting it for each network, the content lead writes once, clicks Enhance with AI and gets a TikTok caption, a LinkedIn post, a Pinterest description and the rest, each ready to edit. Our social media approval workflow guide shows how to set up the sign-off step.

How to switch from Sprout Social to Postprism

A clean switch takes an afternoon per brand. Keep two weeks scheduled in Sprout while you set up, so nothing goes quiet during the move.

  1. Export your upcoming posts. Open your Sprout publishing calendar and copy the next four weeks of posts into a spreadsheet with three columns: content, scheduled_at and, where a post has an image or video, media_url.
  2. Save the reports you need. Export any Sprout reports you want to keep before your subscription ends.
  3. Start the trial and create workspaces. Sign up, then create one workspace per brand or client before connecting anything.
  4. Connect your networks and invite the team. Connect X, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest in each workspace, then invite teammates as Admins, Editors or Viewers.
  5. Set up your brand identity. Add your industry, tone, values, audience and key messages so Enhance with AI writes in your voice.
  6. Bulk Upload the CSV. Save the spreadsheet as CSV (up to 200 rows and 2 MB per file, on every plan), choose the platforms for the upload and check the preview. Split larger schedules into several files. For XLSX or JSON, use the AI Scheduling Assistant instead.
  7. Add per-network versions. Open your most important posts and click Enhance with AI to give each network its own version.
  8. Turn on approvals. On Freelancer or Agency, have Editors submit posts for approval so Owners and Admins can approve or request changes.
  9. Pause, then cancel. Pause publishing in Sprout before your first Postprism post goes out, then cancel once a full week has published.

The verdict

Sprout Social is an excellent suite for large teams that run care, listening and reporting together, and its price reflects that. When your team's real work is planning, writing and scheduling, Postprism is the best Sprout Social alternative: $19 a month flat for one brand on all 6 networks, a native version of every post from one click of Enhance with AI, Bulk Upload and an MCP server for AI agents on every plan, and approvals for a team of 3 from $49 or 10 from $99, with no per-seat fee. Choose Hootsuite for an enterprise suite with four MCP servers, Agorapulse for inbox-first community work, Sendible for agencies selling branded reports, Vista Social for multi-location reviews, SocialPilot for budget agencies, Zoho Social for a low entry price and Buffer for one person on a few channels. For the two-way comparison, read Postprism vs Sprout Social.

Try Postprism Free for 7 Days

Write once and publish natively on 6 networks, with flat pricing that does not charge per seat and an MCP server for your AI agents.

Start your free trial

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best Sprout Social alternative in 2026?

Postprism is the best Sprout Social alternative for most teams in 2026. It publishes one brand to all 6 of its networks for $19 a month flat, covers a team of 3 with approvals for $49 and a team of 10 for $99, writes a version for every network in one AI request, and includes an MCP server on every plan. Sprout Social costs $79 to $399 per seat a month billed annually.

How much does Sprout Social cost in 2026?

Sprout Social's pricing page, checked October 2026, lists Essentials at $79 per seat a month billed annually ($99 billed monthly), Standard at $199, Professional at $299 and Advanced at $399, plus a custom Enterprise plan. Essentials and Standard include 5 social profiles. Listening and Premium Analytics are add-ons.

Does Sprout Social have an MCP server?

We found no official Sprout Social MCP server as of October 2026. Community-built servers wrap the Sprout API, which is on the Advanced plan at $399 a seat. Postprism's hosted MCP server, with 11 tools, is on every plan.

Does Hootsuite have an MCP server?

Yes. Hootsuite lists four MCP servers: Perch for publishing, Lumen for listening, Nest for the inbox and Parliament for employee advocacy, with pre-built connectors for ChatGPT and Claude. You need access to the matching Hootsuite product to use each one.

Does Agorapulse have an MCP server?

Agorapulse has an MCP connector in beta for Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot. It creates draft posts and calendar notes, and you then schedule and publish those drafts inside Agorapulse.

Is Agorapulse cheaper than Sprout Social?

Yes, per user. Agorapulse starts at $79 per user a month billed annually with 10 social profiles, while Sprout Social's $79 Essentials plan includes 5. Approvals start on Agorapulse Professional at $119 per user, against Sprout Professional at $299 per seat.

Is there a cheaper Sprout Social alternative for small teams?

Yes. Postprism Freelancer is $49 a month for 3 members, 3 brands on all six networks and an approval step. SocialPilot Standard is $50 a month for 3 users and 15 accounts, and Zoho Social has a free plan for 1 brand on 6 channels.

Is Postprism cheaper than Sprout Social?

Yes, at every size we priced. One person on one brand pays $19 on Postprism against $79 to $299 a seat on Sprout, depending on how many profiles they need. A team of three pays $49 against $897 a month on Sprout Professional, and a team of ten pays $99 against $2,990.

Can I move my Sprout Social posts to Postprism?

Yes. Copy your upcoming posts into a spreadsheet with content, scheduled_at and optional media_url columns, save it as CSV and use Bulk Upload, which takes up to 200 rows and 2 MB per file on every plan.

Which Sprout Social alternative is best for agencies?

Postprism Agency, for most agencies: 10 members, 10 client workspaces each on all six networks, approvals, the REST API and analytics CSV export for $99 a month. Sendible suits agencies that sell branded reports to clients, and SocialPilot suits agencies with many accounts on a tight budget.

Sources

Written by Shahriar Rumel, Founder. Reviewed 11 October 2026.

Shahriar Rumel

Written by

Shahriar Rumel

Founder, Postprism

Shahriar is the founder of Postprism, a social media scheduler that publishes to 6 networks from one content calendar. He writes about scheduling, consistency, and growing on social without the busywork.

More on Scheduler Comparisons