Sprout Social vs Agorapulse, in short: choose Sprout Social if you run a large customer care or social team that needs a polished Smart Inbox, deep competitor and paid reporting, and publishing to Reddit or Snapchat, and your budget allows $199 to $399 per seat a month; choose Agorapulse if you want a strong shared inbox, 10 social profiles on every plan and long reporting history for $79 to $149 per user a month. If your main job is planning and publishing one brand across many networks, neither is the cheapest route: Postprism publishes to 6 networks with a native version of every post for a flat $19 a month, with approvals from $49 and an MCP server for AI agents on every plan.
Sprout Social and Agorapulse are the two suites that come up most often when a team outgrows a simple scheduler and starts answering comments and messages at volume. Both bundle publishing, a unified inbox, reporting and AI, and both charge for every person who logs in. The differences are in the details that decide the bill and the daily workflow: how many profiles a seat covers, which plan unlocks approvals and bulk import, how long reporting history lasts, and how far each lets an AI assistant into your account. Here is a plain comparison of the two, built from each vendor's own pricing and help pages, checked in October 2026.
Key findings
- Both charge per person. Sprout Social lists Essentials at $79 per seat a month billed yearly ($99 monthly), then Standard $199, Professional $299 and Advanced $399. Agorapulse lists Standard at $79, Professional $119 and Advanced $149 per user a month billed yearly ($99, $149 and $199 monthly).
- Profile limits favour Agorapulse at the low end. Sprout's Essentials and Standard plans include 5 social profiles, with unlimited profiles from Professional. Every Agorapulse plan includes 10, with extra profiles listed at $10 to $15 a month each.
- Agorapulse has the inbox on its entry plan; Sprout does not. Sprout's consolidated inbox starts on Standard at $199 a seat. Agorapulse's all-in-one inbox for comments, DMs and Google reviews is on Standard at $79.
- Agent access differs. Agorapulse has an MCP connector in beta for Claude, ChatGPT and Copilot that creates drafts but does not publish. Sprout's pricing page lists no MCP server; its API sits on Advanced and creates draft posts only.
- Both offer a 30-day free trial, and neither asks for a card to start one.
- A flat-priced option costs a fraction of either. One person posting one brand to 6 networks pays $19 a month on Postprism Solo, $79 on Agorapulse Standard and $299 on Sprout Professional, because Sprout's cheaper plans stop at 5 profiles.
Sprout Social vs Agorapulse at a glance (checked October 2026)
| Factor | Sprout Social | Agorapulse |
|---|---|---|
| Positioning | Premium all-in-one suite with a Smart Inbox, deep reporting and listening add-ons | Inbox-led social management with long reporting history and ROI reports |
| How you pay | Per seat | Per user |
| Entry price | $79 per seat a month billed yearly, $99 monthly (Essentials) | $79 per user a month billed yearly, $99 monthly (Standard) |
| Top self-serve price | $399 per seat a month (Advanced) | $149 per user a month billed yearly, $199 monthly (Advanced) |
| Profiles included | 5 on Essentials and Standard, unlimited from Professional | 10 on every self-serve plan, then $10 to $15 a month each; unlimited on Custom |
| Networks | Bluesky, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Reddit, Snapchat, Threads, TikTok, X, YouTube; Messenger and WhatsApp for messaging | Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn pages and profiles, TikTok, X, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Bluesky, Google Business |
| Shared inbox | From Standard ($199) | Every plan (from $79) |
| Approvals | Internal and external approval workflows | One-step from Professional; multi-step on Custom |
| Bulk import | Plan and schedule multiple posts across profiles at once | CSV import of up to 200 posts on Advanced and Custom |
| AI | Trellis AI agent with 100 credits per seat a month; Enhance Post by AI Assist from Professional | AI Writing Assistant, AI alt text, Organization Context AI, Archie |
| Reporting history | Not stated on the pricing page | 6, 12 or 24 months by plan |
| Listening | Add-on from Standard | Add-on |
| API | Sprout API on Advanced | API on Custom |
| MCP | No official MCP server listed | MCP connector (beta), drafts only, every current plan |
| Mobile app | Included | iOS and Android on every plan |
| Trial | 30 days, no card | 30 days, no card |
Pricing compared (checked October 2026)
Sprout Social pricing (October 2026)
| Plan | Per seat a month | Profiles | What it adds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $79 billed yearly, $99 monthly | 5 | Publishing, content planning, profile and post reporting, Trellis with 100 AI agent credits per seat, mobile app |
| Standard | $199 billed yearly | 5 | Consolidated inbox and collaboration tools, 10 brand keywords per group, Listening and Premium Analytics available as add-ons |
| Professional | $299 billed yearly | Unlimited | Message tagging, competitor, tag and paid insights, Enhance Post by AI Assist |
| Advanced | $399 billed yearly | Unlimited | Sentiment in the Smart Inbox and Reviews, Enhance Reply by AI Assist, the Sprout API, helpdesk integrations, message spike alerts, 20 brand keywords per group |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Everything in Advanced plus onboarding, SSO setup and priority support |
Source: Sprout Social pricing. The page shows a monthly price only for Essentials.
Agorapulse pricing (October 2026)
| Plan | Per user a month | Profiles | What it adds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $79 billed yearly, $99 monthly | 10 | Unlimited post scheduling, the all-in-one inbox, basic reports and branded report exports, 6 months of data |
| Professional | $119 billed yearly, $149 monthly | 10 | Link in bio, Instagram product tagging, calendar notes, ad comment replies, post and inbox assignments, one-step approvals, team performance reports, 12 months of data |
| Advanced | $149 billed yearly, $199 monthly | 10 | Labels, saved replies, moderation rules, bulk actions, CSV bulk scheduling of up to 200 posts, advanced and ads reports, ROI analysis, competitor benchmarking, 24 months of data |
| Custom | Tailored | Unlimited | SSO, custom roles, multi-step approvals, API, historical data import, sentiment |
Source: Agorapulse pricing. Extra profiles are listed at $10 to $15 a month each. Agorapulse retired its Free plan on 6 July 2026 and now offers a free Archie plan for posts created with Archie, covering Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and YouTube.
What each costs at real team sizes
Per-seat pricing feels close at one user and drifts apart quickly. The table uses yearly-billed list prices and the lowest plan that covers the profile count, with Postprism alongside for reference. A Postprism workspace connects one account per network, so one brand on all 6 networks fits in a single workspace.
| Scenario | Sprout Social | Agorapulse | Postprism |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person, 1 brand, 5 networks | $79 (Essentials) | $79 (Standard) | $19 (Solo) |
| 1 person, 1 brand, 6 networks | $299 (Professional, since Essentials and Standard stop at 5 profiles) | $79 (Standard, 10 profiles) | $19 (Solo) |
| 3 people, 3 brands, approvals | $897 (3 seats on Professional for unlimited profiles) | $357 (3 users on Professional) plus extra profiles beyond 10 | $49 (Freelancer, 3 members, 3 workspaces, approvals) |
| 10 people, 10 client brands | $2,990 (10 seats on Professional) | $1,190 (10 users on Professional) plus extra profiles beyond 10 | $99 (Agency, 10 members, 10 workspaces, approvals) |
Between the two suites, Agorapulse is cheaper at every size. At one user they start at the same $79, but Sprout's 5-profile cap pushes anyone posting to more than 5 profiles onto Professional at $299, while Agorapulse covers 10 profiles on Standard. Sprout's higher price buys things Agorapulse does not list on its self-serve plans, such as Reddit and Snapchat publishing, WhatsApp messaging and paid insights, so the gap is not all margin. Agorapulse's profile add-ons matter for agencies: a team of 10 managing 10 brands on 6 networks each has 90 profiles, 80 of them beyond the plan's 10.
Feature by feature
1. Publishing and networks
Sprout Social's integrations page lists publishing to Bluesky, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Reddit, Snapchat, Threads, TikTok, X and YouTube, with Messenger and WhatsApp handled in the Smart Inbox. Its publishing page describes planning and scheduling multiple posts across profiles and networks at once, a calendar you can share with external stakeholders, calendar notes, and an asset library that imports from Canva, Bynder, Adobe Experience Manager, Dropbox and Google Drive. Optimal Send Times uses 16 weeks of audience data to suggest when to post.
Agorapulse counts Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn company pages and personal profiles, TikTok, X, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Bluesky and Google Business towards its profile limit. Its plan table includes unlimited scheduling, multi-network publishing, first comments on Instagram, Facebook and LinkedIn, threaded posts on X, an Instagram grid preview, publishing queues and recommended publishing times in the composer. CSV bulk scheduling of up to 200 posts at once is on Advanced and Custom.
Edge: Sprout for network breadth, with Reddit and Snapchat. Agorapulse for Google Business Profile and for fitting more profiles into the entry plan.
2. AI
Sprout's AI is built around Trellis, which the pricing page calls "your AI teammate", with 100 AI agent credits per seat a month on every plan. AI Assist generates caption suggestions and alt text, Enhance Post by AI Assist arrives on Professional, and Enhance Reply on Advanced.
Agorapulse includes an AI Writing Assistant for captions, an AI alt text generator and Organization Context AI, which stores your brand's tone so AI drafts follow it. Archie turns articles, webinars and videos into on-brand posts, guided by a Playbook that captures your strategy, audience and voice. Reports can be summarised by an AI Report Digest, and AI-powered reply suggestions are on Custom.
Edge: Agorapulse for brand-tone setup and repurposing long content. Sprout for AI help inside the inbox on its top plans. Neither describes producing a separate version of one post for every selected network in a single step, which is what Postprism's Enhance with AI does.
3. Analytics and reporting
Sprout includes profile and post reporting on every plan and adds competitor, tag and paid insights on Professional, plus team productivity and customer care reports on Advanced. Premium Analytics is a paid add-on from Standard. Its pricing page does not state a data retention period.
Agorapulse keeps 6 months of data on Standard, 12 on Professional and 24 on Advanced. Every plan has post performance reporting, a basic ROI report built on Google Analytics, white-label PDF and CSV exports and an AI summary. Advanced adds an ROI report that ties conversions and revenue back to posts, ads reporting, PowerPoint exports and competitor benchmarking.
Edge: Sprout for paid and competitor depth at enterprise scale. Agorapulse for ROI reporting and white-label exports at a lower per-user price.
4. Team and approvals
Sprout's publishing page describes workflows that guide internal and external team members through approving messages. Its pricing page does not tie approvals to a specific plan, so confirm that with Sprout before you buy. Every person who works in the tool needs a seat.
Agorapulse lists one-step approvals, internal comments on drafts, bulk approve and shared calendars for external reviewers from Professional, and multi-step approval chains with custom roles only on Custom. Its mobile app lets people approve content on the go.
Edge: Agorapulse, for publishing its approval tiers clearly and charging less per approver. For comparison, Postprism's approval workflow is on Freelancer ($49 for 3 members) and Agency ($99 for 10), with Owner, Admin, Editor and Viewer roles and no per-seat fee.
5. Inbox and community management
This is where both suites earn their price. Sprout's Smart Inbox pulls in comments, direct messages and mentions from connected profiles, with Collision Detection to warn when a colleague is already replying, Custom Inbox Views, Message Completion and conversation history. It starts on Standard, with message tagging on Professional and sentiment on Advanced.
Agorapulse's all-in-one inbox is on every plan and covers comments, DMs and Google Business reviews, with comment moderation, inbox search and inline translation. Professional adds assignments and ad comment moderation; Advanced adds saved replies, labels, bulk inbox actions and fuller moderation rules. Both sell listening as an add-on.
Edge: Agorapulse for getting a capable inbox at $79 a user. Sprout for large care teams that want sentiment, spike alerts and helpdesk integrations on Advanced.
6. API and MCP for AI agents
Sprout's pricing page lists the Sprout API on Advanced at $399 a seat. The API documentation covers analytics, messages, listening and publishing, but publishing creates draft posts only: the docs say all posts require "is_draft": true. We found no official Sprout Social MCP server; community-built servers wrap the API.
Agorapulse's API is on Custom. Its MCP connector, in beta, works with Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot and is open to every current plan except Legacy. It reads inbox, listening and analytics data and creates draft posts and calendar notes, but it does not publish: you schedule and publish drafts inside Agorapulse.
Edge: Agorapulse, because its connector is on every plan rather than the top tier. Neither lets an agent schedule a post end to end. Postprism's MCP server has 11 tools on every plan, so an agent can upload media, create and schedule posts and read analytics, and the REST API is on Freelancer and Agency.
Who should choose each
| Your situation | Better fit |
|---|---|
| A customer care team answering messages, WhatsApp and reviews all day | Sprout Social |
| You publish to Reddit or Snapchat | Sprout Social |
| Leadership wants competitor and paid insights in one suite | Sprout Social |
| You want a shared inbox without paying $199 a seat | Agorapulse |
| You manage Google Business reviews alongside social | Agorapulse |
| You need 12 to 24 months of reporting and ROI reports | Agorapulse |
| You mainly plan and publish one brand across many networks | Postprism |
| A small team or agency needs approvals at a flat price | Postprism |
Sprout Social: For enterprise care and insights teams
Choose Sprout Social if your team lives in the inbox, needs sentiment, spike alerts and helpdesk integrations, reports on paid and competitor performance, publishes to Reddit or Snapchat, and the per-seat price of $199 to $399 fits the budget. It is a polished, well-supported suite for large teams. Our Sprout Social vs Hootsuite comparison covers it in more depth.
Agorapulse: For inbox-heavy agencies and community teams
Choose Agorapulse if replying to comments, DMs and reviews is a daily job, you want 10 profiles on every plan, and you need long reporting history, ROI reports and white-label exports at $79 to $149 per user. It is the better value of the two suites for most mid-size teams.
A third option: Postprism
Many teams that shortlist Sprout Social and Agorapulse are not really buying an inbox. They are buying a way to plan, write and publish one brand across several networks, with a teammate or client approving posts. For that job, both suites charge for features you may not use, and both charge again for every person. Postprism is the better fit for teams posting one brand to many networks at a flat price.
- One brand on all six networks for $19. Postprism publishes to LinkedIn profiles and Company Pages, X, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest. Solo is $19 a month for 1 member and 1 workspace, Freelancer $49 for 3 members and 3 workspaces, and Agency $99 for 10 members and 10 workspaces. Posts are unlimited on every plan, and there is a 7-day free trial. See pricing.
- A native version for every network in one request. Write once and choose Enhance with AI: Postprism returns a separate, editable version for every network you selected, shaped by your saved brand identity. Plans include 150, 500 or 2,000 adaptations a month, and the server picks the AI model.
- Approvals without a seat tax. Freelancer and Agency include an approval step for Owners and Admins, with request-changes notes, and Owner, Admin, Editor and Viewer roles. Adding a teammate does not change the bill.
- Agents that can actually schedule. The hosted MCP server's 11 tools let Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients upload media, create and schedule posts and read analytics, on every plan. The REST API is on Freelancer and Agency.
- Planning tools built in. A calendar with month, week and day views, a kanban board, Bulk Upload of up to 200 CSV rows per file on every plan, and analytics for 30, 60 or 90 days on every plan, with CSV export on Agency.
What it publishes on each network:
| Network | What Postprism publishes |
|---|---|
| Text, a single image or a video, to personal profiles and Company Pages | |
| X | Posts with up to 4 images |
| TikTok | Video and photo posts |
| YouTube | Full video uploads with title, tags, playlist and thumbnail |
| Bluesky | Text posts |
| Image Pins |
For the full head-to-heads, read Postprism vs Sprout Social and Postprism vs Agorapulse. If you are comparing more tools for a team, our guides to the best social media tools for agencies and the best approval workflow tools cover the wider field, and the best scheduling tools for AI agents compares MCP support across vendors.
How to decide in five questions
- How much of the day is inbox work? If replies, DMs and reviews take hours every day, pick one of the suites. If most of the day is writing and scheduling, look at Postprism first.
- How many profiles per person? Above 5 profiles, Sprout means Professional at $299 a seat. Agorapulse covers 10. Postprism connects all six networks in each workspace.
- How many people log in? Multiply the seat price by your headcount. Three people on Sprout Professional cost $897 a month and on Agorapulse Professional $357; Postprism Freelancer is $49.
- Do you need Reddit, Snapchat or Google Business? Reddit and Snapchat point to Sprout; Google Business reviews point to Agorapulse.
- Should an AI agent schedule posts? Agorapulse's connector drafts, Sprout's API drafts on Advanced, and Postprism's MCP server schedules on every plan.
Our verdict
Between the two suites, Agorapulse is the better value for most teams: an inbox on the entry plan, 10 profiles per plan, long reporting history and an MCP connector on every current plan, at roughly half Sprout's per-seat price once you need more than 5 profiles. Sprout Social is the stronger choice for large customer care and insights teams that need its Smart Inbox depth, paid and competitor reporting, and Reddit or Snapchat publishing. For teams whose real job is publishing one brand across many networks, Postprism is our pick: a native version of every post for all 6 networks, approvals and agent access, from a flat $19 a month.
Try Postprism Free for 7 Days
Connect all six networks, write once, and let Enhance with AI write a version for each one. Plans from $19 a month, with your team included.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Agorapulse cheaper than Sprout Social?
Yes. Both start at $79 per person a month billed yearly, but Agorapulse's top self-serve plan is $149 per user against Sprout's $399 per seat, and Agorapulse includes 10 profiles on every plan while Sprout's Essentials and Standard stop at 5. Prices checked October 2026 on each vendor's pricing page.
Which has the better inbox, Sprout Social or Agorapulse?
Sprout's Smart Inbox is deeper at the top end, with sentiment, spike alerts and helpdesk integrations on Advanced, plus WhatsApp and Messenger. Agorapulse's inbox is on every plan from $79, covers Google Business reviews and adds assignments, saved replies and moderation rules on higher plans. For most mid-size teams, Agorapulse gives more inbox for the money.
Does Sprout Social have an MCP server?
Sprout Social's pricing page does not list an MCP server, and we found no official one in October 2026; community-built servers connect to the Sprout API, which is on the Advanced plan and creates draft posts only. Postprism's hosted MCP server has 11 tools on every plan and can create and schedule posts.
Does Agorapulse have an MCP server?
Yes. Agorapulse has an MCP connector, in beta, for Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot, open to every current plan except Legacy. It reads inbox, listening and analytics data and creates draft posts and calendar notes, but it does not publish; drafts are scheduled inside Agorapulse.
Do Sprout Social and Agorapulse have free trials?
Both offer a 30-day free trial with no card needed. Agorapulse retired its Free plan on 6 July 2026 and now offers a free Archie plan for posts created with Archie on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and YouTube. Postprism offers a 7-day free trial on every plan.
Which is better for an agency?
Between the two, Agorapulse: it costs less per user, includes white-label reports on every plan and publishes its approval tiers clearly. Its 10-profile limit per plan means agencies pay for extra profiles as clients grow. For agencies that mainly plan and publish for clients, Postprism Agency is $99 a month for 10 members and 10 client workspaces, each with all six networks and an approval step.
Which networks does each support?
Sprout Social lists Bluesky, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Reddit, Snapchat, Threads, TikTok, X and YouTube, plus Messenger and WhatsApp for messaging. Agorapulse lists Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, TikTok, X, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Bluesky and Google Business. Postprism publishes to LinkedIn, X, TikTok, YouTube, Bluesky and Pinterest.
Is there a simpler alternative to both?
Yes. If you do not need a shared inbox, Postprism publishes one brand to 6 networks for $19 a month flat, writes a version of each post for every network in one AI request, and adds approvals for 3 members at $49 or 10 members at $99, with an MCP server on every plan.
Sources
- Sprout Social, checked October 2026: pricing, integrations, publishing features, Smart Inbox, API documentation
- Agorapulse, checked October 2026: pricing and plan table, MCP connector help article, Free plan help article
- Postprism: pricing, AI content adaptation, approval workflow, AI agents
Written by Shahriar Rumel, Founder. Reviewed 11 October 2026.




